Rule details

The last step of the add rule wizard is completing the rule details:

Rule name – type in rule name representing your need so you can see it in the rules list and understand. When saving the rule without a name, a default name will be assigned representing the trigger and action selected to this rule in brackets.

Delayed Execution – this setting allows you to define a time interval between the moment on which trigger was activated, and the moment the action will take place. By default this setting is unchecked. When checking it you will have to set the interval value and unit, seconds, minutes, hours or days, or use the default delay of 5 minutes (which can be set in the app setting screen).

On this time interval a countdown starts until the action is executed.

One good use of that functionality is to turn off your data connectivity a few minutes after the screen is turned off.

Since during the delay you might want to see when the action is going to be executed or cancel the delayed execution, as soon as the trigger is activated, a notification message will appear in the status bar showing the progress of the currently awaiting action. Clicking on the notification will cancel the delayed execution and remove the notification:

Cancel delayed execution by trigger – Auto-cancel delayed execution when defined trigger is launched.

Activeness – this setting allows you to define an active period for the rule so AutomateIt will monitor the trigger only on desired times. Really useful if you only want a certain rule to be active only during daytime, weekends, just an hour a day etc. By default this setting is checked so the rule is active always. When unchecking it you will have to define specific days of the week and specific hours of the day in which this rule will be active. According to this setting the rule will be listed on Active rules list or inactive rules list of My Rules.

There are some similarities between Inactive and Disabled rules in the sense that they both will not be triggered in case the defined trigger is set, BUT there is an important difference between them – Inactive rules will be automatically activated on the defined time and disabled rules will be activated manually or by using the “Enable/Disable Rule Action”. They will also be displayed in different lists on My Rules screen.

Save – clicking the save button will finish the rule definition wizard, save the rule and go back to the originator screen, home page or rules list. 

Here is a flowchart of the wizard screens describing a common flow of rule definition:


That’s it ! you’ve defined a new rule in only 3 to 5 steps !

Edit Rule

Rule editing executed by the rule definition wizard. Start editing a rule by clicking the rule on the My Rules lists or by choosing edit rule from the rule toolbar.

When opening this wizard in edit mode, the rule will open directly on the last step of the wizard – the rule details screen. You can navigate backwards from there with the slider or with your finger to change triggers, actions and their parameters.

When finishing edit, save the rule from the last wizard screen or from the toolbar on the header row.