My Rules

Screen Navigation & Gestures

When entering to My Rules screen you will see:

Header row – Shows you that you are at the “My Rules” screen and contains also a small toolbar. From the toolbar you can start the rule definition wizard by clicking the Add Rule icon, Share selected rules, or choose from a Dropdown Menu to export selected rules or sort the rules list differently.

Slider row – The slider allows you to switch between 4 lists of rules: All, Active, Inactive and Disabled. For each list you can see on the slider how many rules there are.

Rules List – The rules list shows you all your rules and allowing you to see more details on each rule and perform some actions.

Gestures

Sliding your finger left / right on the rules list will switch between lists.

Sliding your finger up / down on the rules list will scroll the list.

Clicking the down arrow head will open a preview of the rule and the rule toolbar.

Clicking a rule will enter to edit mode allowing you to modify your rule.

Rules List

The rules list shows you all your rules and allowing you to see more details on each rule and perform some actions. For each rule in the list you can see:

  1. A vertical colored strip according to the rule state (green for active, orange for inactive and red for disabled).
  2. Pair of icons showing the trigger and action of the rule.
  3. Rule name
  4. Down arrow head, allowing you to open a preview of the rule and the rule toolbar.

Rule Preview shows you a description of the trigger and action definition of the rule so you can briefly understand what the rule does.

Rule Toolbar – allowing you to slide right/left and choose rule operations:

 

 

On/Off

Click it to enable/disable the rule. Clicking this will also move the rule to the relevant list.

Once the rule is disabled the application’s service will not monitor the defined trigger, thus will not execute the defined action. This can be very useful for defining a set of rules that you only want enabled in specific times.

 

Edit Rule

Click it to enter the rule definition wizard in edit mode, see the full definition of the rule’s triggers and actions, and modify to your needs.

 

Delete Rule

Click to delete rule. You will be asked to approve before deletion.

 

Perform Action

Click to perform the defined action/s of the rule. Allowing you to check what the rule will perform when it will be automatically triggered.

 

Upload Rule

Click to upload your rule to AutomateIt market, share it with our community and get some credits points.

 

Note: In case the rule contains personal parameters like contacts, applications etc., on uploading this data will be sanitized to un-personalize it and keep your privacy. You will be notified about it and see exactly which data was deleted. On download users will have to fill it with their chosen parameters before saving. For example, if you will upload a rule “SMS my spouse on incoming call”, when uploading AutomateIt will delete yours spouse contact details, and on download users will have to browse their spouse contact in the trigger definition screen.

 

Share Rule

Click to share the rule with friends via email. This will send the rule as an AutomateIt file (.AiR) saved on /sdcard/AutomateIt/shared, and the recipient will be able to open it with his/her AutomateIt app and add it to the rules list.

Remarks:

  • When choosing the share rules menu item from the header toolbar a list of rules will be first shown and you can check/uncheck which of them you want to share.
  • The recipient will be required to save the attached shared rules file and open it using any file browser (Astro file manager, ES File Explorer etc).
  • After opening the file a list of shared rules will be displayed so the recipient can choose which rules should be import, and rather they will replace existing rules or they will be added to existing rules (Duplicate rules will not be created).
  • Note: Rules with features only available on the Pro version can’t be shared with the free version.
 

Copy Rule

Creates a copy of the rule and enter to edit mode so you can modify it and save with a new name.

 

Rule History

Enters the rule history log that can help you keep track of events related to your rules. The following events will be logged to the rule history:

  • Rule created
  • Rule edited
  • Rule enabled/disabled (from context menu or by other rule)
  • Rule triggered
  • Rule started countdown for delayed execution
  • Rule delayed execution was canceled
  • Rule manually executed by user
  • Rules with Location Trigger specific events – click here
  • Rule active period started / ended